Japan, Part 2: A Quest for Snow

There’s always a first time for everything. I remember back then in 2017, when I finally travelled to Singapore was my first time going abroad. The amount of excitement was equivalent to a kid getting his first PlayStation. Seriously, I’m not exaggerating. The fact that I could finally get my first stamp in my passport after all those years was just too overwhelming. And you could tell when I finally landed at Changi Airport, I let all the emotions took over and ended up bursting into happy tears (now, probably I am, lol). But yeah, for someone who’s so passionate about travel, there’s nothing more elated and historic than going abroad for the first time. Just stop there for a moment, try to remember your first experience flying abroad… Got my point?

DSCF1888
Winter is here.

 

The Japan trip a few months ago was not only my first time to set foot onto Japanese soil, but it was also my first time seeing snow. Winter might stirs up mixed reactions from people. But, for me, it was the lifetime longing that I’ve been dying to experience. I recall the happy moments shopping for the winter outfits, from winter hat to gloves, thermal jacket to heat tech shirts, wondering how it feels like when nature showers snowflakes, holding and playing that fresh snow in my hands. I denied the fact that I might get sick with the freezing temperature.

DSCF1867
Feeling like I’m in the scene of Harvest Moon.

 

After having so much fun exploring all the touristy places and embracing the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, me and my friends headed to more serene place where everything got even more interesting. Not only because touring a city as big and populous as Tokyo for 4 days nonstop could be so exhausted, but also the idea of experiencing snowfall in Japan for the first time was second to none.

It wasn’t until I stare at the mounds of snow outside the window from the bus who was taking us from Takayama to our nice hotel in Okuhida that I realized I was so lucky to be able to make my wish come true, just by the end of 2019. To be brutally honest, I didn’t put too much expectation with the trip, I was afraid to. What I tried to focus on was only to set foot in Japan. The snow was a bonus.

Believe me, it felt so surreal. The hills, and the woods are covered with white snow as far as the eye can see, leaving a frosty, magical impression. I thought I would just chill out and didn’t let myself get too little carried away, because it was just the beginning, we were still on the bus and we haven’t even reached the hotel yet. But, I couldn’t help it.

DSCF1108
A long, winding and frosting road.

 

The hotel where we stayed in Okuhida, Gifu was just across the main road to Shinhotaka Ropeway. It’s this nice old building that offers us stellar views of the foot of Hida mountains and the flowing river of Hirayu. The room was a traditional ryokan, a type of traditional Japanese room that featured tatami mat and chabudai dining table with a balcony overlooking the main road and the woods. As much as I wanted to stay at ryokan and sleep on a futon, the reason why I couldn’t agree more with my friend who offered the trip to this hotel, I also wanted to experience onsen for the first time, and luckily the hotel facilities include a vast area of indoor and outdoor hot spring baths. So, we didn’t need to go anywhere, really. At dinner time, a large feast was served, me and my friends had food comma and were struck by the delicacy and fineness of the Hida beef.

DSCF1127
The tranquil ryokan retreat.

 

DSCF13782
Prepared for food comma.
DSCF1423
Hida beef that literally melts in your mouth.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A slightly different routine you’ll have when you’re in a country with 4 seasons is that you have to constantly check the weather app on your phone. And when you’re traveling, you can get so irritated if the app says the weather will be rainy, but you also can get super thrilled, if the app says you’ll get multiple chances for snowfall. The next morning, as predicted by the weather app, Gifu was showered with snow. I was completely, blown away.

DSCF1105

It was -1°C, the heavy snowfall excited us in the best, tackiest way possible. We went out to the balcony, we grabbed the snowflakes and put them in our hands, we took so many pictures, way too many, with different poses and angles even though it was freezing outside. You would probably be laughing and looking at us with disgust, but come on, we spent half of our savings to get there. So, please bear with us, lol.

DSCF1523
My first snowfall.
DSCF1683
Stopping by a bear ranch, near the hotel.
DSCF1689
Taking a closer look to the Hida mountains.

The quest for snow ended in Shirakawa-gō, the traditional village and one of the most renowned UNESCO’s World Heritage Sites in Japan, located in Ōno District, in the same prefecture as Okuhida. Nestled in the Hida mountain range of the Japan Alps, north of Nagoya, Shirakawa-gō is a tiny valley only 8 KM long and 2.8 KM wide, but scattered through its rice fields are more than 150 thatched-roof farmhouses known as gasshō-zukuri, as well as barns and sheds, many of them several hundred years old. Roughly, there are 2,000 people living in Shirakawa-gō, most of them clustered into a handful of communities.

We arrived there by bus after the joyful stay at the hotel in Okuhida and a night transit in Kanazawa. Though the snow in the village has slighty melted, you could still see the beauty of the winter wonderland. It’s almost like a painting. I had to pinch myself for it was a dream come true, not only to play in the snowfall, but most importantly to visit the Japanese fairytale village of Shirakawa-gō.

DSCF2148
Is this for real? Finally, Shirakawa-gō!
DSCF2220
Too pretty.
DSCF2323
A closer look to the gasshō-zukuri.
DSCF2351
Enter a caption full of blessings here.
DSCF1981
Coca Cola Hida, Takayama limited edition.
DSCF2040
The iconic Kanazawa Station’s Tsuzumi-mon Gate.
DSCF2055
Tourists everywhere.
DSCF2089
Quick stroll at Omicho Market, Kanazawa before heading to Shirakawa-gō.
DSCF2073
The famous snow crab.
DSCF2067
A long queue for one of the Japan’s highest quality seafoods.
DSCF1344
Iruminēshon.
DSCF14282
Kanpai!
DSCF1835
Sampai kita ketemu salju lagi!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by ciptadimana

Constantly torn between museums and Mother Nature, between traditions and pop culture, spooning and adventure.

Leave a comment