Not even 30 before 30 – So What?

Hey, it’s me again. I hope you’re doing well wherever you’re reading. I just wanted to give you some news about what’s going on.

Remember when I first started this blog? I had this vivid dream in my head that by the time I reach 30, I’d have visited all the provinces in Indonesia. Guess what? I think I’m not going to make it. I have been to the 28 provinces already – 6 more left of course, yet as what it seems I no longer have much time as my 30th birthday is approaching very soon. I still want to go to the rest of the provinces I have never been to though, but instead of giving myself a strict timeline, I will just go with the flow.

Longing for torquoise water.

So, the last time I travel to a new province is none other than the amazing West Papua. Thanks to Nadya who accompanied me in this trip. I recall that one frantic flight past mid-night from Terminal 3 Soekarno-Hatta and every other moments waiting to be unfolded as we set foot in the province. I still can remember each and every one of them, clearly – though it has been 40 weeks ago.

Sorong, the largest city of West Papua, is located literally at the lore of the Bird’s Head Peninsula of Papua. Most people fly to this city to go to Raja Ampat. Me and my friend was no exception. We flew the earliest flight we could possibly find so we could catch the ferry to Waisai, the gate to the most renowned tourism destination of East Indonesia; Raja Ampat.

East Indonesia calling.

It took us around 2 hour to embark for Waisai, Raja Ampat from Pelabuhan Rakyat in Sorong. We stayed in this very nice sea-facing bungalow in Waisai where the best spots for island hopping were just a few miles away – Star Lagoon, Batu Pensil, Piaynemo, to the best natural pool I’ve ever been to, Kali Biru. Sadly we didn’t have the luxury to explore the southern part of Raja Ampat (Wayag and Misool), in which I bet would have been even more incredible to do. Two days – one night in Raja Ampat and two days – one night in Sorong was too short for the trip one could ever imagine.

Where we stayed.
The tranquility from the over-the-sea terrace.
The famous Piaynemo.
My favorite, Kali Biru.

Although it was my first time to set foot on Papuan soil, the view, and the atmosphere in general seemed very familiar to me. And it hits me… As I have been to many other amazing destinations in this country, most of them were taken place so close to one another…. Did I go to Raja Ampat at that time because I needed to? – as in, you know, going to a new place is always good for your soul as you’ve been dealing with the harsh life in Ibu Kota *rolling my eyes. Or did I fly to Raja Ampat, begging my dear friend to join me, rushing around and trying to fit everything in because I need to go to all the provinces in Indonesia, for God’s sake, before I reach 30? HAHAHA. Well, I know right? There was so much pressure, here and there.

A little climbing to picturesque spots.
Couldn’t complain.

I realized, I really don’t need to rush things. Some things in life aren’t meant to be scheduled whatsoever. When it happened, it just happened. Career, relationships, your wishlist to the most amazing places in the world… So, I guess I’m slowing myself down a little bit. One could see how far they have come and how far they could have gone by slowing down, isn’t it?

Yes, there is this particular, uncanny question that I should have asked myself to begin with. How are you doing? What’s been going on in your life, Ciptadi? Why do you just appear here again in all of a sudden? What’s happening with this slowing down?

Before I answer that one question with so many follow ups, I want you to keep it in mind that I still managed to enjoy the trip to Raja Ampat. It was still one of the most amazing trips I’ve ever taken. So, in honor to that crazy idea that I mentioned before, let me raise my glass, show some respect to my old self, with Papua Barat being the last province I’ve visited in 30 years living on this planet. Here’s to the more realistic, more calm, more stoic version of myself. Most importantly to more amazing trips ahead, no matter how old I am going to be, lol. Enjoy more pictures I took from the Raja Ampat trip! 🙂

Where exactly I needed to be.
The long pier that connects the bungalows to the resort’s restaurant.
A day like this to begin with.
Into the bush.
Exploring the true beauty of Raja Ampat.
A cruise to Kali Biru.
The path couldn’t get any peaceful.
The star lagoon.
Walking mindfully in nature.
Magnificent sunset in Sorong.

Here’s the thing. So many things have happened to me these past few months. I’ve excelled in my career, my circle got smaller, yet stronger than ever, I think I have lived my life the way I always wanted ever since I moved to Jakarta. However, I realized, none of them were quite fulfilling. They did at first, but they faded away. So, long story short, I gave up everything in my possession, in Jakarta, to come back home. I want to clear my mind. I don’t know for how long. But, what I do know now, I want to be with my family for as long as I could.

I’m currently still working for my company I’ve been working for these past 9 months, but I’m resigning very soon. I have my replacement already, and the transition has been going really well. I have more spare time to do whatever I want. I spend more and more time with my family. I witnessed my sister’s third child being born. I run a few businesses with a good friend and my sister. I live a humble life in my hometown, with some exploration with a friend to an untouched rural area around the town on the weekend. I breathe fresh air and enjoy jaw-dropping spectacles from my hometown that I have been taking for granted. I have more time to watch heart-warming movies, and inspiring docu-series, to listen to any good songs that just came out, to read books and good articles on the internet, all without any worry or distress. And first and foremost, more time to think clearly about my life. About what’s next… About what I could have done differently while remain being that one enthusiastic and unapologetic dreamer as I have always been.

I mean, it’s alright if we are being so determined about what we are going to achieve in the next 5-10 years, about being so passionate of getting ourselves onto the next one, and the next one right coming in, all so damn quick and fast-paced. But, don’t forget to live, slow down a bit, be there for those who matter to us the most. Take a chance on love, quit whatever unfulfilling from our life.

Too many people trying to hustle and grind when what they really need to do is ground themselves. Live in the moment. Our time in this world is very limited. So, we make sure we live our life to the absolute fullest.

So… 28 provinces and is 30 already… ¿Por qué no?

West Papua, checked! ✔️

Sampai kita ke mana-mana lagi!

Published by ciptadimana

Constantly torn between museums and Mother Nature, between traditions and pop culture, spooning and adventure.

Leave a comment